Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Hi total beginner here - Questions regarding new low tech/low maint. tank setup

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Red face Hi total beginner here - Questions regarding new low tech/low maint. tank setup

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi to all the pros here! I have always been fascinated by aquariums and fish keeping and finally took the plunge, bought a new Gex Glassterior 600 slim tank (60x20x25). I plan to start a low-tech, low maintenance planted tank. I have been reading a lot from this forum, various other forums online and also spent a lot of time getting poisoned by loads of youtube ADA/iwagumi/planted tank scapes videos. I would consider myself to have some basic theoretical knowledge on planted tanks but 0 practical knowledge, but still have many many questions for all the pros here so please bear with my noobness

1st question: I read up about the Walstad method and Tom Barr's non CO2 planted tank. If I'm only planning to have mainly low light/plants that don't need soil (anubias/mosses & ferns), & some dwarf hair grass/HC & some kind of stone/DW iwagumi hardscape, do I need to dirt my tank (Thinking of putting JBL base fert then cap with gravel/sand) or will it just cause algae growth? Is it possible to have the Walstad method & Iwagumi in a tank? Or will hardscapes take up too much space and thus end up not enough plants to support the bio load?

2nd question: For a light to moderately planted tank of my size (60x20x25) & probably looking to stock a small school of danios/tetra + clean up crew of some hardier shrimps & otos, will the Eden 501 canister filter work well for me? Do I even need a canister filter? Or will one of those bigger HOB (Gex slim/fluval c3 kind) work fine?