Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Custom Structures for Vivarium- Help?

Feedback Score
    Country
    United States

Custom Structures for Vivarium- Help?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I'm pretty new to aquariums but eventually I'd like to be keeping, dwarf gouramis, orange delight shrimp, yellow shrimp, emerald green cory cats, a lyre tail dalmatian molly, neon tetras, and vampire crabs in a 37-55 gallon tank (preferably 55, talking to someone about one now). I'd be splitting the tank so it'd be 20-25 gallons of long space on the bottom half for all the fish and room up top for the crabs to hang out and burrow with a waterfall in the center to moisten the soil and increase humidity.

Custom structures I hope to have are:
    -fake rock backing for top section
    -fake rock to cover tubing for a canister filter
    -ditch for holding soil/stuff for drainage(possibly a 6" pvc pipe cut in half, maybe heightened with styrofoam or other material and covered to look like rock
    -wide/shallowly sloped spiral staircase of faux rock material or something similar for crabs to easily climb up and down
    -platform extended from first few steps underwater to allow crabs to crawl around partially submerged

Here's a rough visual:

Though they'll likely be added later, I'd like the tank to be ready for the crabs before I add any fish. If anyone could recommend materials or a better way to do things that'd be great!

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Custom Structures for Vivarium- Help?

crabs with shrimps ? dont think its good to mix them

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

I agree. The shrimps might be consumed by the fishes especially the shrimplets. But what I was afraid is that the bioload might be too much for such a small tank. I would advise on getting a 90 gallon or larger.
    If you've learnt, teach, if you have, give.