Country
    Singapore

Hand me downs...

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Good day to everyone!

I am new to the hobby but since a friend of mine from the office is relocating, I was able to get the following for free.

- small tank about 22x19x24 cm.
    - small filter that is attached to the tank
    - less that 1W LED light
    - tank cover, mat

This used to house his turtle before. I bought an anti-chlorine solution and hope these items would get me started this weekend for a fish only tank.

Will be needing help from the masters here as i choose to go to the shrimp-fissiden moss set-up.

Thanks.

Feedback Score
    13 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Hand me downs...

Welcome to AQ!

Curious, what kind of turtle can survive in a 22 cm tank? juvenile RES?

If you are keeping plants, the lights will need to be "focused beam" to reach the bottom of the 24 cm height tank. also, the plants you can grown will be limited to low light plants like mosses and ferns like you mentioned.

the rule of thumb for me is fish and shrimps don't go well together, unless you have NEA inspectors telling you that you are creating a haven for mosquitos.

So choose between fish only or shrimp only.
    I am balding but i am still young!

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Thanks for the welcome!

Yup you're correct, a young red-eared turtle.

I am using this tank to learn the curves as I totally am not familiar with the hobby then will buy appropriate tanks and equipment when I'm ready to try my shrimp-moss set-up.

Thankfull I have you guys as advisers, then i would somewhat minimize my mistakes in the future.

Feedback Score
    13 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Ok. starting small is a good way to start. perhaps can start with a moss wall and some simple shrimp soil for the base. no need for plants on the base of the tank.

If you are interested in scaping, can try a small iwagumi or rock scape.