Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Hi! Newbie here. Low tech outdoor tank.

Feedback Score

Hi! Newbie here. Low tech outdoor tank.

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I had a 2ft tank someone threw away and decided to throw in feeder guppies 2 years ago.
    My tank is on a hdb walk way so it is in direct sun. Full of algae.
    Recently decided to go into some low tech planting.
    uploadfromtaptalk1387726167452.jpguploadfromtaptalk1387725996016.jpg
    And I also like to raise a RCS army
    uploadfromtaptalk1387726265373.jpguploadfromtaptalk1387726365097.jpg
    Hair algae is the most common in my tank.
    Threw in 10 amano shrimps and 2 oto today to fight my algae.
    I m quite keen in using my top filter to plant something.
    Look forward to finding similar hobbist who goes this path of lowtech outdoor tank. Cheers! Feel free to comment and give any crazy ideas. But my stand is no expensive equipment for me because anyone can walk to my house and take it away. Hahahaha! Great outdoors.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
    Using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Hi! Newbie here. Low tech outdoor tank.

Welcome to the outdoor club..

You can grow creeping plants which can flower, used in foreground for OHF, use gravel (those are better for BB) and ditch the foam.
    Glosso, Hairgrass both do flower.

Depending on the sunlight exposed to the tank, you might as well go heavily planted on the sections exposed to the sun during peak hours.
    You can just paste some oyama or stick plastic sheet on the back to control the light from being too over powered.

btw. hairgrass just use a old toothbrush to scrub them when you see hair algae. every few weeks i do some brushing if i can find any.
    Just something i discovered, Hairgrass/windelov & normal java ferns/moss are hair algae magnets