Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: How to clear fish poo from soiled tank?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

How to clear fish poo from soiled tank?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Dear all,

I am new to soil and I have no idea on how to clear the poo from the soil.. although I read on the packaging of the soil saying that water change only needed after 30days, but I see a lot of poos on the soil itself and I have no idea how to clear it.. if using gravel pump the water will become cloudy again? or just leave the poo there and it will slowly disintegrate into the soil??

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: How to clear fish poo from soiled tank?

let the poo fertilize your plants!

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Yup In the good old days, guppies were reared in large plant pots with soil and plants. No water change at all and the fish and plants grew happily ever after^^ The poo does act as fertilizer but if you find it unsightly, add a layer of sand above the soil. Fish poo will land on the sand and can be vacuumed out without disturbing the soil.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

I just leave the poo as it is, to re- fertilise the soil. However water change in the intial period is neccessary to keep nutrient in check since new soil is very "nutrient rich" and might bring about algae problem. I recommend at the very least once per week.
    Inspired by Amano Limited by Yusof Ishak

Feedback Score
    13 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

There are 2 areas where an aquarium beneficial bacteria can grow. Beneficial bacteria decomposes poo into simpler compounds like ammonia and subsequently nitrates ... etc.

1 area is in the filter media
    1 area is in the substrate