Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Livestock and filter transfer

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi AQers, I have a heavily stocked ~24cm 8L tank with cardinal tetras, corydoras, otos and some other fish, running on a Eheim 2213.

Over the past 2 months I've been doing a DSM with HC on ADA Aquasoil. I filled the tank last week and used 2 small hang on filters for water movement and to somewhat cycle the tank. I plan to transfer my livestock and the eheim 2213 to the new tank.

Could you advice me how I should transfer my fishes and filter from the 24cm tank to the 45cm tank, because the 45cm tank has not been cycled yet. Thanks.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Livestock and filter transfer

I would prefer if you let the new tank cycle first, to prevent any unnecessary deaths.

As for transferring the fauna and equipment perhaps the AQ veterans could assist. I'm still a newb.
    Ants of the Aquatic World (Upcoming blog!)

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

The thing is my Eheim 2213 is already cycled with my 24cm tank. But I'm wondering if the existing beneficial bacteria in the Eheim will be enough to keep ammonia and nitrites in check after moving it over to the 45cm tank. The bio load will be the same because I'm not adding more fishes than what was in my 24cm tank.

Also, how long does Aquasoil leach ammonia for? It's been on DSM for 2 months and cycling for a week.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

If you have been running a DSM in the tank for 2 months, there should already be a beneficial bacteria population already growing inside the soil itself and a good amount of nutrients should have also been used up by the DSM plant growth, therefore the cycling process should be quicker.