Country
    Singapore

new to planted tanks need some advice

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi there

i am new to this hobby and planning to get one soon so need your expertise advice.

currently i have a 3 ft cupboard stand meant for a old 3 ft (90x45x45) fish tank but this tank not suitable for planted tank as it is a ios.

here are my questions below

1) i wonder if i should get a 2 ft (60x30x36) tank as it is more easy to manage? but will it look odd on the 3 ft top since it is smaller?

2) what are the most basic stuff i need to get to keep neon tetra and some simple shrimps and easy plant that is hardy? please advice the spieces too.

3) anybody use ada cube or ans optic clear tank before? any difference? or which is better for clarity?

4) is a chiller a must for this setup?

5) as for led lighting, is ada aquasky 601 good? or can get a cheaper version of uo aqua pro z will do the function?

6) for co2 is it better to get a solenoid or without? what is it for?

7) co2 needs to run 24 hours a day? how long normally does it last? where is the best place to do refill?

is shiruba xb310 a good one? for either 2 or 3 ft tank? or any other better suggestions?

9) good to use ans intense atomizer S or L? or better use the traditional one like cup?

thanks for the advance advices... have a great weekend.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: new to planted tanks need some advice

Hi I can help you with some answers, hope the other shifus would answers those I'm not sure about also.

1) i wonder if i should get a 2 ft (60x30x36) tank as it is more easy to manage? but will it look odd on the 3 ft top since it is smaller?

2ft is normally recommended if you are just starting in this hobby as it gives you enough leeway and easier to manage your water parameter. As for the looks purpose you can put your filter and CO2 in the extra 1ft space.