Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: NEWBIE that needs help in buying a tank and equipments!!!

Somewhere on a tiny Island call Sillypore
    Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

NEWBIE that needs help in buying a tank and equipments!!!

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi everyone

I am new to fish keeping and hope someone here could enlighten me and clear my many doubts. sorry if you had to repeat wat you've told some other newbies earlier...

I am planning to get a 1.5ft (length) tank to start with and want to keep a school of neon tetras, probably 8 neon tetras, 2 pepper cory, 1 chinese algae eater and maybe some other community fishes in it, together with lots of plants.

1) Have been scouting around lately and Samyick and Linda Aquarium is selling this 1.5ft tank that comes with lighting and a japanese brand filter and the package comes in a hefty price of 120 bucks or more. Does anyone knows why is this package so expensive as compared to other tanks and wat is the type of filter its giving? its clear acrylic and hooks onto the back of the tank.

2) A LFS in bishan is offering me a 1.5ft tank with external lamp (look like a flourescent tube to me under the case) and a waterfall filter (thats what he calls it) for just 55 bucks. And the assembly looks pretty much like wat samwick is offering. Such a BIG dip in price as compared to samwick and linda. So my confusion is, is a "waterfall filter" good enough for my planted tank and if not, wat would you recommended and are there any special lights i have to buy for live plants?