Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

CRS using tap water

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hello!!!!! I am very very new to keeping shrimps, and i started with crystal reds, bad choice. haha, only have 6 out of the total 15 I bought.
    anyway, I was wondering if it is OK to use tap water for the shrimps in the long run??? The rest of the surviving shrimps seems to be doing pretty well... I use AZOO branded de-chlorinater.

Feedback Score
    20 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: CRS using tap water

please provide more informations like what you use for setup of your shrimp tank. a full tank shot would be nice too.
    CRS - CRazy about Shrimps
    - Alan Phang -

You can't explain it simply, you don't understand it (well enough )..." - Albert Einstein

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

2nd that. Need more info.

Your temp is ?

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Is your tank cycled?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Maybe a 10L tank... Tank should be cycled, been running since last November... I do not have test kits, only have GH and pH...
    GH == 6~8
    pH == 6.5~6
    tds == 180 (I sometimes use the fluval shrimp mineral supplement, but now I am attempting to lower the tds with water change without using that)
    temp == 24~26 c (using a fan to cool it)
    using azoo de-chlorinator, azoo plant substrate... Setup is an UG filter hooked up to an HOB filter... I'm not home now, will mane take a few photos when I can later in the day... Evaporation is an issue, I do top up with tap water, but instead of just topping up, I remove some tank water and top up with dechlorinated tap water, remove 1 part tank water, top up 2 parts tap water...
    Have half a Ketapang leaf, nana, Java fern, some random moss, a Marino and a small floating plant...

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

I also use a few drops of seachem stability when I do a water change...