Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Do plants recover from nutrient deficiencies and how?

Feedback Score

Do plants recover from nutrient deficiencies and how?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I'm still learning the fine art of dosing the right amount of NPK/Fe into my tank and the recognition of plant deficiencies. Doing research in this forum and watching Youtube posting helps tremendously. I feel like a doctor to my plants.

My plants' leaves are starting to show sign of chlorosis; old leaves are turning slight yellowish at the edge. I was following the recommended dosage from Seachem and proportionate it to my 28 litres nano tank. Seems like the recommended dosage is far from sufficient in terms of NPK/Fe for my planted tank heavy with stem plants in the background. My AR 'mini' top leaves are showing a bronze color instead of red while the underside of the leaves are showing a fine magenta color. Spending an evening with the "Yet Another Nutrient Calculator" and reading the recommended PPM for these macro nutrients, I have come up with the Seachem dosage I think is suitable for my tank. The plant is to try dry fertilizers soon. One thing I've learned is that the PPM is for weekly dosage and should be divided according to your schedule before weekly water change.

So my question is; do plants recover from nutrient deficiencies and how? Will the leaves that exhibit deficiencies at the early stage recover to be lush green again? Or the plant only recover by sprouting healthy leaves and those affected leaves with deficiencies will wither away?

TIA.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Do plants recover from nutrient deficiencies and how?