Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fighting GDA (Green Dust Algae)...where to get bristlenose plecos? other suggestions?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Fighting GDA (Green Dust Algae)...where to get bristlenose plecos? other suggestions?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Been fighting GDA for >1 year. I'm an experienced planted tank hobbyist, not a newbie.

GDA has been a terrible plague which I have had varying levels of success controlling but mostly negative.

the plants are doing well and I have no other algae, except for some occasional BBA which is easily controlled.

Tried many methods:
    1. Nerite snails. I do see them eating the GDA but there are always some spots which they miss.
    2. Wait and do nothing method. Let it grow for 4 weeks and develop into thick carpet before scrapping it off. Tom Barr method. Didn't really work for me.
    3. Plecos. Tom Barr again suggested using bushy-nose/bristlenose plecos to control it. I bought 6 spotted plecos from Seaview but didn't solve the problem entirely. Maybe it's because I got the spotted plecos instead of the bristlenose.

I also have the usual otos, yamatos but no SAEs.

The GDA is now fairly manageable but it's always there. If I ignore it, i.e., don't scrap the glass for 2 weeks, it will grow and spread.

Previously before I added the Nerites, the GDA would overwhelm the tank within 2-3 days after I scrape the glass. Maybe the Nerites are helping to keep it down somewhat but it's never totally eradicated.

I would like to know where I can get true bristlenose plecos so that I hopefully see if this does the trick once and for all. I live in YCK and usually just go to Seaview and NA (Thomson). Both only carry the common spotted plecos. Any suggestions on where I can find this bristlenose pleco would be greatly appreciated. Save me trips to hunt down different LFS