Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Help! How to breed Yamato (Amano) shrimps!

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Help! How to breed Yamato (Amano) shrimps!

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi everyone! Yesterday night I did some research on breeding Yamato Shrimps because three female shrimps in my large aquarium have eggs in their underbellies. The colour of the eggs is light grey and one female kind of laid her eggs this morning in the big aquarium and I assume that all the babies were eaten up by my tetras. Currently I have taken one female out and transferred her to a smaller plastic tank. I put in some ceremic rings and a pinch of TetraBits (what she often steals from my tetras) into the aquarium. Is everything I'm doing correct? I'm a total newbie at shrimp breeding and Yamato shrimps can be very tough to breed . The female is feeling very stressed now and is frantically swimming all over the place. I have a few questions to ask any expert who can help me:

1) How do I tell when the eggs will hatch?
    2) Can I put 2 females together in one tank or must they be seperated.
    3) How much salt must I add into the water for the newly-hatched shrimp babies? Some sources say 25g per 1 litre while others say 3.5ppt.
    4) Is my tank big enough? (Please see picture) or must I purchase a bigger one?

I think these are the four main questions I would like to ask any 师父 who would be able to help me out.

Any advice or comments would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers from SG,
    Happydanio123

Pictures:
    https://flic.kr/p/zFFJ1R
    https://flic.kr/p/zFFD4M

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
    Does this make sense: ~Imperfect Past equals future tense~

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Help! How to breed Yamato (Amano) shrimps!