Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Some tips for simple saltwater aquarium?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Some tips for simple saltwater aquarium?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I have one old 2 ft fish tank isn't in use.
    Going to try out salt water aquarium for the first time, I want to keep Nemo since they are selling it at a few bucks offer.
    Can i have some tips from the experienced aquarists here on what to have or buy to make my salt water aquarium easy to maintain or keep?

My current old fish tank doesn't have any fishes,
    it have some freshwater plants and an air bubble.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Some tips for simple saltwater aquarium?

This is a loaded question. I do not mean to demoralise you but you really need to do some research on how to maintain a saltwater tank. If you want to include coral, there are more stuff to find out. It is a very expensive hobby to jump into, even for a 2ft tank. It is not recommended to just jump into the hobby on a whim, you'll spend more than $1k and still do not get what you want.

You will need-
    Refractometer, to set the level of salt in the water.

Salinity calibration fluid, to ensure your refractometer is set to the correct level.

Pure water, 0 tds water must be used, alternatively natural sea water is an alternative but you need to see the salinity level as well as any pathogen or harmful stuff in it.

Salt mix for aquarium only, salt used for cooking is definitely a no-no.

Live rock and marine grade sand. 2 types of live rock, cured or uncured. There are 5 grade of marine sand from very fine at grade 0 to coarse at grade 5.

Equipment wise you will need,

Wavemaker, you need water movement for fishes and coral.

Protein skimmer, to extract the waste in the water column.