Country
    Singapore

Smile Question with K in Dennerle

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi,

I am a newbie and been introduced to planted tank. Am using the Dennerle fertilisation kit (E15 and Gold-7). However i realise that one of my crypt is showing signs of K deficiency. Plants lis ake japonica and some stem plants are doing well. No pearling though

Pinholes appear in older leaves, and slowly enlarge
    Yellow area
    Withering of leaf edges and tips
    one of the new leaves is coming out yellow

I am not sure if i should buy potassium supplement to combat the deficiency. However how much should i put since Dennerle did not specify the concentration of the different nutrients.

Details of tank

size: 4 x 1.5 x 1.5
    lighting: 160W PL (from 1300 to 2100) second week. will increase to ten hours in two weeks time

kH 4
    pH 6.8
    Fe 0.5ppm

there is no base fert use. I am using some sort of aqua clay from Germany.

I will appreciate your guidance. Thanks in advance
    Last edited by wongteeliang; 12th Apr 2005 at 19:16. Reason: more info to add

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Hey bro,

are you using anything else for the water column fertilization?
    the typical dennerle fertilization combination is E15, gold 7 as well as something called V30.

(I dont have my ferts on hand with me now, so cant remember which is for what, though I recall one is more for macros, the other for micros)

Perhaps some other forummer familiar with the dennerle system could comment.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    E15 has K. And I don't think your crypts are suffering from K deficiency. Check if you have enough CO2 using the pH and KH ratio. Does it happen to only 1 out of many crypts? It could be crypts rot too.