Images
    Country
    Singapore

Get started here!

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    You’re probably here because you have seen one of Takashi Amano’s planted tanks, or you chanced upon a beautifully aquascaped tank picture posted online, and want to recreate a living piece of art in your home for yourself.

Getting started in planted tanks is a trifle difficult at first, especially if you have no prior experience in fish-keeping. This little article is intended to help you, the complete newcomer, enter our world of greenery and art smoother.

This article is intended for complete newbies, the help found in here are of my personal decision, and you need not follow strictly what I specify. I’m only trying to describe the process in the simplest way possible in my way.

Equipment

So you saw that wonderful tank filled with lush growing plants and fishes darting in and out of the foliage, and you want to create one for yourself.

Here, I shall go through the process of setting up a 2ft tank. Why a 2ft? 2ft tanks are big enough to remain a stable body of water, and small enough to manage for a beginner. It’s also aesthetically easier to aquascape. Lastly, you need an open mind, and a heart to read and read and read and read some more material online.

The following will describe how to get a tank ready for plants, just basics.
    What you need to get:

1) A 2ft glass/acrylic tank.
    2) A bag of “Lapis Lazute sand”
    3) A bag of JBL Aquabasis Plus
    4) A lighting set, preferably 36W to 72W
    5) A C02 injection system
    6) A good canister filter
    7) A cooling system, like a chiller, or a DIY fan set.

That is about it. Everything can be bought at a good LFS, for which I recommend Nature Aquarium in Singapore. (Don’t be lazy, search the LFS listings) Bear in mind I’m just citing an easy place to go to for everything for first-timers, not promoting the LFS in question.