Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

4th attempt on a planted tank

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi guys, I just scaped this tank today. I am still an amateur at setting up planted tanks. It is a low maintenance tank with no co2. However, i intend on replacing the plants at the left side of the tank and planting more at the front of the aquarium. However, i have a few questions. This tank is now in the midst of the cycling process, is there any way to speed up the cycling process?Any plants to recommend that can grow well in these conditions that I can plant at the front of my tank? And what fish should I put in this tank? Any criticism is accepted, thanks guys!

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: 4th attempt on a planted tank

Hi Bracehero,

Welcome to planted tanks! You have some 3 interesting pieces of rocks, 3 pieces of light wood/log and 1 piece of uniquely shaped drift wood. Not sure what is the dimension by looks to be about 60cm by 30cm by 30cm?

I think while waiting for the water to cycle, you can play around with the locations of the decor according to the following theme - U-shape layout, Triangle layout or island layout. You can check out this link - http://www.thegreenmachineonline.com...ng-perspectiv/

Another suggestion is to group all the rocks to one side and the one to the other side. You can also have the option of planting only one side and leaving the other side 'empty'.

One thing you need to take note of... as your tank is very new and your plants mass is minimum, you need to make sure your lighting period is not too long. I would suggest less than 6 hours. This is because the substrate you are using is rich in nutrients and with very little CO2, the plants will not be able absorb the nutrients and this will lead to algae issues.

Also have you decided on a fertilizing regime yet? That will help greatly reduce algae.

Feedback Score