Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Separate female guppy from males?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Separate female guppy from males?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi all, I'm totally new to fish keeping, and was an incidental owner of 3 young common guppies, which were overflows from a colleague's tank.

A month passed and what we thought were 2 female 1 male, turned out to be 2 males 1 female. I'm disturbed to see my female guppy constantly chased by the males, bothering the female, who would sometimes turn and chase then away, nipping after them. I mean its nice to see them dancing and darting around but is this stressful for the female?

Hence I separated them but put the tanks next to each other. Then I saw that the males kept swimming up and down near the female. and the female swimming near them too, despite being separated by glass, plastic and a seemingly heartless keeper.

Now I'm torn. I just don't want my female to die of stress which I heard can happen. Neither do I have space for more females (plus I don't want guppy population explosion). Should I keep them separate, or can they live peacefully together? Am I over worrying and should just live them together? These are the plain ones, not expensive fancy ones. They are supposed to be more hardy?

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Separate female guppy from males?

What you are witnessing is just normal for guppies. But since you do not want a population explosion then separating the males away from the female could be one solution. Adult guppies do eat their fry actually, so if you leave the 3 fish in the same tank and you do not isolate the female when she's about to drop fry, unlikely you will have a population explosion

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore