Country
    Singapore

Advice for shrimp tank

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hello everyone
    I need some special advice from anybody here as I'm interested in shrimp tank.
    I intend to keep maybe around 5 red cherry shrimp in a 5g tank. I got myself some diftwoods, some java moss, a java fern, a hilding space for rcs to hide/breed, a sponge filter and also a pack of ada Amazonia substrate.
    I'm not sure am I ready to go yet.
    I heard there's some powder that works on boosting the bacteria or the health of the shrimp.
    Anyway my water already established for 5mths. Previously I kept a Betta and a oto.
    I really need some advice as I don't want any innocent dead shrimp lying around.

Thank you.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Advice for shrimp tank

hi bro!

welcome to shrimp keeping! I am relatively new to the hobby as well so I would try my best to explain and share what I had learnt so far and also from others.

5 red cherry shrimps in 1ft tank seems ok. but just that most will advise you to get a 10 gallon tank instead allowing you house more shrimps. higher volume will also deter any swings in water parameters improving their mortality!

that being said, myself and some other started out shrimp keeping with a 1ft tank as well =))

woods and moss and sponge filters are great for a shrimp tank you can't go wrong with them. but as for your substrate choice, you might want to consider an inert substrate like sand. active subsrate like ada amazonia buffer down your ph value (mine was 6.2). while rcs neocaridina prefers neutral to alkaline water. at the same time it leeches out ammonia during your cycling, resulting in longer cycling period needed. since you are not using any plants that needs to be planted into the soil thus I think using inert substrate like sand will save time and simplify things for you.