Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Blood worms entered my soil while feeding

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi guys, I'm new to this hobby so please forgive me if this is a stupid question. I was feeding my fishes (tetras, barbs, guppies, bumble bees, cory) blood worms and some of the uneaten once entered into my soil and burrow into it. Is it Okay? Will they destroy my plants and aquarium?

Sent from my LG-H870DS using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Blood worms entered my soil while feeding

It's okay they will not destroy anything at all. By the way, these are tubifex worms and not bloodworms

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Quote Originally Posted by Guppendler View Post
    It's okay they will not destroy anything at all. By the way, these are tubifex worms and not bloodworms
    Thanks for the reply guppendler, will they like reproduce and fill up the soil or something? Or eventually die?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

I have the same experience like you before. Once they entered the soil, unlikely you will be able to catch it because they will bury themselves deep into the bottom. They wont die and will continue to grow. If you are lucky, they will be eaten by your fishes if they came out from soil. They are quite annoying because they will spoilt the overall image of your tank.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Yea so true, it's a bit irritating to see them there, but I read somewhere that It's good to have them there because they help lose the soil and prevent any air sac build up is that true?

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore