Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Newbie unsure of male and female pair

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi, I am new in Appistogramma fishkeeping. Would like to ask for advice on identifying the sex of my
    apistogramma cacatuoides pair.
    Reason for asking is suspect the 'female' could be a sneaker male.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/169618.../shares/po69s8

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Newbie unsure of male and female pair

It's really hard to tell with domestic morphs, because females start to have many features typically found only in males, e.g. in your case colour and patterning on the caudal fin.

However, I think from your photos it does look like a proper female (no lower jaw hypertrophy, leading edges of ventral fins are black, no elongation of anterior dorsal fin spines, no filamentous extensions on posterior dorsal and anal fin portions).

Sneaker males are very hard to distinguish, even for male apistos. Burchard (1965) observed A. trifasciata sneaker males making their way into a dominant male's territory to fertilize eggs of females in his territory.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Thanks for the advice. I was thinking of adding 2 more females but I do not want to choose wrongly. Yes, it looks like it is more difficult now to choose a female.
    I am also preparing another tank.
    Currently may I know the easiest apisto to differentiate the sex? From my observation, the agassi would be a best option.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

The easiest apistos to sex for me are those I've bred a lot of, but even for those, it's really hard to identify young females. It is never 100% certain with young fish.