Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Haliea Chiller

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    122
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Haliea Chiller

    Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

    Advertise here

    Advertise here
    Hi
    Today I installed Haliea Chiller HS 28A for my 90 litres tank. Itís inlet is connected to my Eheim Professional 2224 filter. The tank temperature is 28 degrees and the chiller is set at 24. What i am observing is that the temperature reaches 24 and then the chiller again kicks-in about 10 minutes time as soon as the LCD display on the chiller shows 25. It will be on for about 5 minutes and then stop. Is this normal for the chiller compressor kicking-in every 15 minutes? I am wondering how come the tank temperature is going up so fast and the chiller is working so frequently....
    Any suggestions would be highly appreciated. Thanks.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Regards,
    Saugata Banerjee

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Jurong West
    Posts
    304
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Haliea Chiller

    I also use the Hailea HS-28A. The function is correct. The chiller actually measures temperature in a small compartment in the chiller.

    Normally many mod this chiller with an external probe that measures the tank temperature itself. Google for the mod. The compressor will kick in less often I guess for your tank. My tank volume is 200L, so temperature variation is less because of the water volume.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    122
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Haliea Chiller

    Thanks so much for your help.
    Will there be any issue if I let the chiller work the way its working today? I mean it keeps kicking in every few minutes.

    On the attaching of the external temperature probe and bypass the Chiller internal probe, I did find a lot of info. However I am not a DIY guy and am worried that i might spoil the chiller. Do you know if there is any person/LFS who can do this for me? I donít mind paying for this.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Regards,
    Saugata Banerjee

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Jurong West
    Posts
    304
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Haliea Chiller

    Where are you residing? I don't mind doing it and post to you. PM me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    122
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Haliea Chiller

    Thanks Greenie.
    Much appreciate your help.
    Actually I did the modification yesterday and the Chiller is now working perfect. Kick-in time is about 30 minutes and kick-out time is about 2 hrs.
    Its such a relief to have sorted this problem.

    Many many thanks to all those members who helped to find this solution.
    Cheers!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Regards,
    Saugata Banerjee

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Haliea Chiller

    TS: Could you PM me where you got the external temperature probe from?

    My chiller is currently 5 minutes on 5 minutes off.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    122
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Haliea Chiller

    Hi fivefive,

    Pl check this link - http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=470139
    It has got all the info. I also got the probe from the same place.
    Just try to ask for a probe with at least 2 metres of wire.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Regards,
    Saugata Banerjee

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Haliea Chiller

    My hailer chiller keeps kicking in within 2 to 3mins? My chiller is set to 24 but my water is 29? When it kicks in. The LCD temperature drops very fast but once it reach 24 n stops. The temperature raise up within secs. I don't know what's wrong. I just service the hailer from BioPlast.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    122
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Haliea Chiller

    Are you using external probe or the inbuilt Hailea Chiller one? If yes then pl change to external probe and your issues will be resolved. I also had the same issue.
    Check the process of rigging in an external probe. Its pretty easy.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Regards,
    Saugata Banerjee

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Haliea Chiller

    Quote Originally Posted by saugata View Post
    Are you using external probe or the inbuilt Hailea Chiller one? If yes then pl change to external probe and your issues will be resolved. I also had the same issue.
    Check the process of rigging in an external probe. Its pretty easy.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Hi, i not good with modify stuffs. BioPlast said it's $100 plus to do it. He also said it maybe my water flow is too slow. My external eheim 2100 is hooked up to a canister then to a chiller. Should I get another power head or change the pathway?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    122
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Haliea Chiller

    The modification is very very simple and if you do it yourself it will not cost more than $30 max. Have a look at the link which explains how to do it.

    Alternatively you can try using a powerhead so that water flow in the chiller is increased. However am not sure what shld be the flow rate etc.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Regards,
    Saugata Banerjee

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    17
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Haliea Chiller

    Thx guys, I have pluck in the power head direct to my chiller. The temperature is correct and cool. It's working. Thx guys

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •