Country
    Singapore

Pet Shrimp Hobby

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hello,

I am very fascinated by shrimps I think they are really cute and interesting and I wish to pet them.
    But I have got no experience in petting any animals besides hamsters, so anyone is a subject expert on Shrimp can share your setup, tips and advice on pet shrimp??

1. Setup (tank setup/lighting/temperature/pH values/ vitamins / minerals / plantation.... ?)
    2. Diet
    3. Maintenance
    4. Types of shrimp
    5. Where to buy or catch them(if legally possible)
    6. What to expect
    7. Any shop to recommend to buy the whole setup ?

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Pet Shrimp Hobby

Welcome to the world of poison.

1. Setup: The best would be to get a tank as big as the space and your budget allows, bigger tank = more stable water. the other requirements depends on the type of shrimps that you plan to rear.
    2. Diet: depends on what you rear as well, generally, most shrimps that I know of isnt a fussy eater.
    3. Maintenance regime: I would say it depends on the tank size and the type of shrimps you keep, I do alternate week water change and a weekly water top up (mine is 2*1*1 tank)
    4. There's a range from high PH (Marine shrimps), to brackish (opae ula), all the way down to acidic (rcs, crs, etc)
    5. most LFS sells the common RCS (red cherry shrimps), for the more specialized ones, I would advise you not to venture into those because of their very specific requirements.
    6. Lots of death at the initial stage, lots of poison from all the online research.
    7. Depending on where you stay, you can visit C328 (at clementi Blk 32, there's a stretch of like 4-5 LFS in that block alone

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

To expand on setup, you’ll do best with at least a 40l tank, and a sponge filter.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore