Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Floating leaves

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    42
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Floating leaves

    Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

    Advertise here

    Advertise here
    My tank is suffering from floating leaves everyday. After removing the floaters, it'll reappear again in a few hours. There is more leaves overnight. The leaves are not yellow or dead. Most are green.

    I have Monte Carlo, Repens, Crypts. Livestock tetras, shrimps and Nerite.

    My tank is currently suffering from minor BBA and minor snail issues which I've just started treating with carbon liquid recently. Floater problem started before this treatment.

    Is this normal? If not, what could possibly be the issue?

    Thanks.

    Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    266
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Floating leaves

    1st, picture of tour tank.
    2nd, how long was the tank started/running.
    3rd, what is the temperature of the water?

    Most of the expert here will require the 3 items i have mentioned. Without these information, they will not be able to help u


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    42
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Floating leaves

    Quote Originally Posted by genki89 View Post
    1st, picture of tour tank.
    2nd, how long was the tank started/running.
    3rd, what is the temperature of the water?

    Most of the expert here will require the 3 items i have mentioned. Without these information, they will not be able to help u


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Started the tank since the start of CB. 2+ months.

    I don't have the temp of my tank.

    I'm wondering if it's because of the BBA and Hair Algae that is growing. I got quite an infestation that my Monte Carlo now looks darkish rather than green.

    I posted an enquiry on how to get rid of BBA too.

    Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    266
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Floating leaves

    That seems like staghorn algae which is the worst algae.

    The method to treat bba and staghorn is similar. Dose seachem flourish directly onto the affected area. Alternatively, u can dose pp solution but u will need activated carbon + water change.

    The reason for bba and staghorn is due to inbalance of nutrients. Too much nutrients and too little co2 which encourage growth of algae.

    The floating leaves was due to your carpet grass are too thick. Time to trim it. From the pic you can tell that there are several layers of leaves overlapping each other. And the ground do not have sufficient area for them to propagate which in turn pushes leaves out.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    42
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Floating leaves

    Quote Originally Posted by genki89 View Post
    That seems like staghorn algae which is the worst algae.

    The method to treat bba and staghorn is similar. Dose seachem flourish directly onto the affected area. Alternatively, u can dose pp solution but u will need activated carbon + water change.

    The reason for bba and staghorn is due to inbalance of nutrients. Too much nutrients and too little co2 which encourage growth of algae.

    The floating leaves was due to your carpet grass are too thick. Time to trim it. From the pic you can tell that there are several layers of leaves overlapping each other. And the ground do not have sufficient area for them to propagate which in turn pushes leaves out.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I did a trim recently, but I'm not sure how much to trim off. Is there a reference for trimming carpets?

    There is another carbon solution sold locally called Violet Vault EXEl. I'm using that currently cause I couldn't find Seachem Flourish at one point. Is this brand good?

    Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    266
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Floating leaves

    Never heard of the brand. But in general, it should be 1 layer of mc. At most is 2. You are having 3-5 layers and you can see that it have fully taken over your tank.

    I have seen in the past, somebody experienced the same as you except the whole mc uprooted. He was forced to reset his tank


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    42
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Floating leaves

    Quote Originally Posted by genki89 View Post
    Never heard of the brand. But in general, it should be 1 layer of mc. At most is 2. You are having 3-5 layers and you can see that it have fully taken over your tank.

    I have seen in the past, somebody experienced the same as you except the whole mc uprooted. He was forced to reset his tank


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Means I got to really trim down to nearly seeing the soil?

    Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    42
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Floating leaves

    And yes, my MC uproot as well

    Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    266
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore

    Re: Floating leaves

    Yes u must trim it down to near visible soil.
    Once mc uproot, it will mean the whole mc will be uprooted as well which u want to avoid unless u dont mind resetting the tank


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •