Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Seeking advice for setting up of new 4ft planted tank

Feedback Score

Seeking advice for setting up of new 4ft planted tank

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I will be receiving my 4x2x2ft tank next week, together with lighting (8x36wPL), substrate, CO2 system & Eheim 2028 filter. I am new to this hobby. I understand that first 2 months of setting can be problematic. What are the cautious measures should I take?

I was advised to plant fast glowing plant initially, and replace them later. What are these plants?

I was given some KH UP white powder. Was advised to throw some into new water. How should I use it correctly?

I have almost everything purchase except fertilizer and test kits. What should I get?

Thanks for any advice in advance. I am getting excited in waiting for the setup to arrive

Feedback Score
    Hi there

Welcome to AQ (on behalf of the owners, of course)

First of all, i think many here wld agree dat you'd have to be cautious of one very very important thing: PLANNING. The fellas have taught me dat planning when setting up a new tank is important so dat u can minimise the probs dat normally comes wif new tank setups. I'm not exactly very experienced, so i'll leave it to the others to give more inputs on this matter.

Fast growing plants: rotala walichii, cabomba, hygrophila polysperma (others pls feel free to add)

Base fert: JBL ($15 per pack)

KH UP: I've never used it, but the general rule i think is not to incr it >2D of hardness within 24hrs.

Test kits: There r many in the market, the more well-known brands such as JBL, tetra, dennerle, etc. It's a personal choice, i think.

Lastly, be patient....all the best....

Nizz

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    to add on some

the easiest way to avoid having problems is by doing frequent water changes