Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to take better pictures of our tanks?

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

How to take better pictures of our tanks?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi there experts,

Saw many really nice pictures taken by the bros in the aquascaping section and really start to wonder if you are using professional level equipment to take such pictures.

Not being a professional photographer, I presume many bros like me do not have a professional grade camera. Any tips experts here can offer to take nicer pics of our tanks using basic equipment?

For example, I only have an IXUS V2 digital cam. Any particular settings I can do to have better pic qualities?

I realised that if I switch on the flash, the image colour is not as "natural" compared to without. But without the flash, all the pics appear blur even if I used a tripod...

Thanks in advance!

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    For a start, you don't need all kind of fancy gear to take nice pictures of your tank.

If you have a tripod, make sure it's sturdy. Then, just the self timer mode instead of pressing the shutter release yourself as it'll cause camera shake. Also, make sure you cover any stray light source that may affect the exposure. Ambient light should be switched off and stray light from the tank should be covered in black paper. As such, it's probably best to shoot at night.

Post some pictures and we can help you check on what can be further improved.

Hope that helps.

Cheers,
    I have dwarf cichlids in my tanks! Do you?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Just to add on, clean the glass, both inside and out. For the inside, clean the glass one day before you intend to take pictures to allow the stirred up detritus to settle and the water to clear up.