Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Questions, questions, questions. Beginner at work...

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Smile Questions, questions, questions. Beginner at work...

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi there,

I'm a newbie to this forum and also fish-keeping. Always wanted to keep fishes and to learn the art and maintainence of Aquascaping and finally got the chance to.

It's been almost a month since I setup my tank. It is 4.8ft x 1.5ft x 2ft, has 2 jebao canister filters (huge ones), used Sera flowerpot (correct me if I am wrong about the name - threw the empty canisters away) ferts, gravel + ferts make up about 2.5" at the front and slopes to about 5" at back. CO2 tank hooked up to some green thing with 3 bio balls.

The tank is planted with a variety of plants in proper places (plants still growing - as described by fellow AQ members about the protein layer + the evidence of new shoots) I have about 60 neon tetras, 5 yamatos, 2 Zebra Danio, 4 Fire Rings, 6 corydoras, 2 bumblebees, 5 fresh water prawns, 2 congo tertras, 2 dwarf rainbow fishes, 2 holland rams, 2 glass fish (mini ones) and some other fishes I can't really remember off-hand.

My question is that I want to roughly know the following.

1. When should I change water and how much should I change?
    2. Is feeding the fishes twice too much or how often should I feed them?
    3. Filter media should be washed or left as it is?
    4. Where can I get that Python hose?
    5. If I do a partial change of water, should I add liquid ferts?
    6. Where can I get Dr. Mallick's formula from (any particular shop?)

Heh, thanks for entertaining me and my questions, I have other questions but can't remember off hand now. Will post them when I can remember.

Many thanks!!!

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore