Country
    Singapore

urgent: iron tablet/liquid?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi friends,

i'm a newbie in planted stuffs. i will have some sagittaria subulata (courtesy of juggler) which i'm planning to plant in my 2x2x2ft tank. i did a search n it mentioned this plant requires very low maintenance except that it needs sufficient iron fertilizer in the substrate. now i'll be placing tiny to medium sized gravels in this tank.

questions:
    1) where can i get this so-called iron fertilizer in the substrate.
    2) wil it comes in tablet form?
    if yes can i just push the iron tablets under/in the gravels?
    3) and do i really need fine sand substrates as in a really planted tank set-up?
    4) or just the tiny to medium sized gravels will be sufficient without fine sand/substrates...
    5) i really do not want to choose liquid iron as worry it might harm my fishes

another thing to note:
    this tank will consists plecos, loaches and small catfishes. wil the iron tablet or substrate can cause harm to these livestocks?

i need advises rather urgent as tank will come dis wednesday's nite....really appreciate n tks in advance.
    Lophiosilurus alexandri (pacman catfish)

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    you can find FeEDTA being sold in some LFS (under dr malick's hydroponics brand lushgro something or other), however, in most cases, dwarf sag grows like a weed, you do not need to supplement additional beyond the basic fert regiment.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    after sometime, like maybe a month you can put sera florennette A fertilization tablet (contain iron and other minerals) and break them into smaller pieces and insert near the roots of the plants...but initially the nutrients from subtrate fertilizer is sufficient...

2-3mm gravel (lapis) is good for most plants...