Thread: Imported German Lighting set in LFS

Feedback Score

Imported German Lighting set in LFS

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Greetings to all.

I am a beginner in this area of planted tank. Have not started my 48"x18"x18" tank yet due to incomplete equipment-LIGHTING.

One LFS tried to sell me a lighting set imported from Bermany for $600 and claimed that it definitely will made the plants produce O2 bubbles. At least, his display tank using this particular lighting set is working excellently. But the price will burn a big hole in my pocket.

Is it reasonable to pay this price for a lighting set?

The interesting thing i observed is that the lighting set uses 2xwhite, 1xred and 1xblue. (All FL type)

Can the experts here explain why this combination of lights?
    :-X :-X :-X :-X
    2 Legs Bad
    4 Legs Better
    NO Legs Best

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    no need waste so much money lah - if you want save $$$, suggest you go Nature Aquarium at Thomson/Balestier junction and get three sets of Chan's 4 feet light fixtures. Should come up to less than $400. If you want plants to bubble, you need strong light (at least 3 Watts per gallon) AND ample CO2. The colour thing's a con. Plants will thrive with tubes with a spectrum of between 6500 K and 10,000 K (These figures should be indicated on most FL and PL tubes). No need to buy those expensive plant tubes, those daylight tubes sold in hardware shops good enough.

Feedback Score
    Thanks for the money saving advice. Will definitely check out Nature.

I have not really apprehend the basics of lighting.

What are the difference between the white light and the colored one? And what are they used for?

I have seen people using the red/pink ones to make their fish's colour more radiant.

Kindly enlighten.
    2 Legs Bad
    4 Legs Better
    NO Legs Best

Southern tip of S.E.A and possibly blowing bubbles underwater
    Feedback Score