Country
    Singapore

re: plants rotting at base? etc... pls help newbie

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi all,

i'm a newbie to planted tanks and i would like to know about what could be the possible cause of my plants rotting at the base of the stem or where the leaves connect to the stem.

ie. the stem turns a translucent, jelly-like stuff b4 breaking off the parent plant. i also encounter frequent sheeding of plant leaves even a week or more after the plants has been introduced into the tank.

i usually leave my plants as i bought them. (ie. in their pots or attached to their original driftwood)

i understand that CO2 fertilization is required but i'm currently unable to afford a full set-up for a 2 ft tank. are there any alternatives available to me? what else do i need to get?

i have 01x 36W Aqualux (10k & PG combi) on for ~11h a day. my tank consists of mainly a neutral-mild acidic pH, community of tetras filtered with an Eheim 2213 w/ submerged spray bar.

i currently have a variety of plants( eg. red cabomba, mushroom anubias-like plant(?), Java ferns etc.

all suffer from yellowing at the edges of the leaves, frequent shedding of leaves and rotting stems/ leaves.

any help and advice rendered is much appreciated
    4ft (55 gal) African Rift Valley Tank
    Eheim 2229

Feedback Score
    that sure sounds like insufficient nutrient or less probably insufficient light.

any base fert??

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    nope.....

heh,this may sound corny but i only rely on Geo-Liquid and the high bio-load to provide the nutrients?

20% water change twice a week w/ gravel vacuuming.

fish include
    04x cardinals
    04x colombian tetras
    04x harlequins
    01x keyhole cichlid
    01x albino cory
    02x zebra loach
    01x skunk loach
    01x clawed frog

no other additives or medications

thx
    Eheim 2229

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore