Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 32

Thread: Any Nikon users in AQ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    358
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    10
    Country
    Singapore

    Any Nikon users in AQ?

    Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

    Advertise here

    Advertise here
    Any Nikon user here in AQ??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Clementi
    Posts
    7,066
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    789
    Country
    Singapore
    I'm considering a Nikon D200 set with a complete macro set up. Still comtemplating as there seems to be a lot of negative comments, especially with regards to the banding issue on some batches. But I find the 36 months product life cycle to be quite attractive.

    Of course, subsequent high price of lens acquisition is also a consideration.

    In any case, I'm sure there are some Nikon users on the board. Ibn is one of them and he takes absolutely cracking pictures with his Nikon system. We are all moderators on www.aquatic-photography.com.

    Cheers,
    Last edited by benny; 18th Mar 2006 at 01:33.
    I have dwarf cichlids in my tanks! Do you?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    316
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    United_States
    Thanks for the plug, Benny. One day, I'll be able to shoot as well as you do.

    Nikon user here, CCS. Nikon D200 with various macro lenses and a few flashes for the aquatic stuff. Haven't checked for banding yet with blown highlights, but haven't seen anything at 200% when the subjects are exposed correctly. Might have to do with the initial batches (SN on my cam. reads 302xxx).
    Eric

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    4,923
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Images
    375
    Country
    Japan
    i heard the light metering is excellent!!..veryy impressive at least

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    358
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    10
    Country
    Singapore
    Hmm it seems there is more canon user here

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    Ibn's D200 does look impressive. I see you are using a 105mm Macro. is that a Nikkor?
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    3,747
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    199
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by ccs
    Hmm it seems there is more canon user here
    Hahaha... The camera brands doesn't matter... It is the technique and practise of our skill and exchanging of pointers that matters...
    ~ Vincent ~ Fishes calm your mind...
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/valice/





  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Pasir Ris
    Posts
    1,616
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    19
    Country
    Singapore
    I've got an old Nikon FMII, does that count?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Yes Nikon D200 and 105mm Macro. I need to replace my old SB24 though before I can really get some good shots.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    Hi Rod, so you're a D200/150 user too huh? I recall not seeing EXIF in your pix. You need a wireless transmitter on the D200 right?
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    United Kingdom
    For the flash... it works with my sc45 cord but only on manual, so yes I would prefer a wireless remote.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Clementi
    Posts
    7,066
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    789
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by valice
    Hahaha... The camera brands doesn't matter... It is the technique and practise of our skill and exchanging of pointers that matters...
    Well said!

    But, it's really easy when all your friends are using the same system. Can get "over the phone" instructions and borrow equipment easily.

    Cheers,
    I have dwarf cichlids in my tanks! Do you?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    what benny meant was, if all HIS friends are using the same system, they can borrow HIS equipment easily
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    358
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    10
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by benny
    Well said!

    But, it's really easy when all your friends are using the same system. Can get "over the phone" instructions and borrow equipment easily.

    Cheers,
    Exactly why i ask if any other nikon user here!!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    316
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    United_States
    Haha...need a Benny on the Nikon side!

    Don't need a wireless transmitter on the D200. It has a built in IR trigger that will allow you to control multiple speedlights. The D200 onboard flash emits a preflash which triggers the other speedlights. It's the same as the D70 in this regards. Where it actually beats out on the D70 is the ability to control the various flashes' power with the onboard (D70 just triggers; can't control output via onboard flash).
    Eric

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    does this built-in trigger emit visible light?
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    316
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    United_States
    Unfortunately, it does, but depending on how you use it, it can show up in the picture.

    Here's a picture that I took on Saturday using the D200 onboard flash to remotely trigger one SB-800 on top of the tank (perpendicular to the glass and fish).

    Eric

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    that looks great! except the dorsal is folded. Do you have one smililar?
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    316
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    United_States
    Not from that session with the D200. I took a similar picture with my old D70 (just sold it on that day), so I'll see if the guy who bought the camera can send me the file.
    Eric

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    2,600
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    5
    Country
    Singapore
    I am a Nikon user (not yet a Nikon owner though...) .

    I have the impression that the built-in flash should not show while being used in commander mode. I thought it is purely used as a trigger and not illumination. I have taken quite a number of shots of my tank using the built-in as trigger for the SB-800. The built-in flash never show on the reflection of the tank. (I don't have the camera with me. You can try confirming this by shooting yourself with the camera using the built-in to trigger the remote flash and see when the built-in is litted in the photo.)

    There is a problem with the pre-flashes is that there are higher tendencies for the subject to close his/her eyes in the shot.

    BC

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •