Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: newbie to aquarium photography

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    238
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    25
    Country
    Singapore

    newbie to aquarium photography

    Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

    Advertise here

    Advertise here
    is the macro function of a consumer sony 6mp cybershot cam good enough for taking closeup shots of aquariums? mine seems to always turn up blurry

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    4,923
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Images
    375
    Country
    Japan
    more light perhaps?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    238
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    25
    Country
    Singapore
    aquarium lighting not sufficient?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    4,923
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Images
    375
    Country
    Japan
    know why it is blurry??

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    3,747
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    199
    Country
    Singapore
    The reason for your pictures to be blurry is due to the slow shutter speed... your camera automatically sets its shutter speed when in macro mode... If you have much much much much more light, your camera will then assume that it is in a very bright environment, and so increase the shutter speed and therefore prevent either motion (shake) blur or blurring due to the movement of the fishes...

    That;s why ranmasatome said you probably have not enought light...
    ~ Vincent ~ Fishes calm your mind...
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/valice/





  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    let's not mince words, guys.

    You Do Not Have Enough Light. there.
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Clementi
    Posts
    7,066
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    789
    Country
    Singapore
    If it's just plants close up that you are trying to capture. Get a tripod, turn off the filter, and just the timer mode. Make sure the fishes don't get curious and stray into the frame. You can produce A3 size pictures with this setup.

    For fishes, it's a different story.

    Cheers,
    I have dwarf cichlids in my tanks! Do you?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    238
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    25
    Country
    Singapore
    if i wanna catch fish??anyway what if i turn on my aquarium lights and house lights at the same time? will that compensate?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    4,923
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Images
    375
    Country
    Japan
    If all that was additionally needed was your house lights then the camera companies must have some problems.. i wonder how they sell all those flashes...let alone even consider making them...
    hmmm....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bedok North
    Posts
    1,354
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    36
    Country
    Singapore
    Hi, me also newbie but I think turning on the house lights might infact give you additional problems. I turn off all the lights, inclusive of tanks lights before taking picture. Seems to give me the best results, don't ask me why ask the Gurus
    Something about the water & the fishes that calms me down.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    316
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    United_States
    You'll get all sorts of reflection with both house lights and room lights, especially when they're all in a confined space.
    Eric

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by rtcc86
    if i wanna catch fish??anyway what if i turn on my aquarium lights and house lights at the same time? will that compensate?

    depending on the kind of fish you want to shoot. for those that like to suspend themselves in simulated inanimation you can shoot with aquarium lighting, you need very steading hands or something to prop the camera on. a tripod is mostly too impractical and you can't get really close to the tank.

    turn off the house light as Ibn says. you want a pix of the fish, not yourself.

    for most other fishes, you need a lot of light. by A LOT I mean a HUGEASS amount which basically means you need sunlight or flash.
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    中峇鲁
    Posts
    361
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    12
    Country
    Singapore
    Is there any standard setting you guys use?

    just got a canon s3 (ixus400 dead)
    am a auto mode user all along.. now i got big headache.

    can share setting for taking whole tank and macro shot?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    4,923
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Images
    375
    Country
    Japan
    each situation is different.
    No such thing as one setting can take all kinds of photos..it depends on many factors.
    Usually, you'll just ahve to trial and error... practice makes perfect.. so just shoot.. dont worry.. try and try again all sorts of settings.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by lEddyl
    Is there any standard setting you guys use?

    just got a canon s3 (ixus400 dead)
    am a auto mode user all along.. now i got big headache.

    can share setting for taking whole tank and macro shot?

    macro shot (like what you see from Benny) will be tricky with the S3IS as it does not have a hotshoe. very kludgy to trigger an external flash from this cam.
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    238
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    25
    Country
    Singapore
    from what i can deduce,it takes a 100 pics to get 1 perfect one?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    without enough light, you will get ZERO perfect one, unless you are lucky-strike type. actually without flash, it will be pretty bad because you will then have very strong colour cast, even if the fish don't move.

    shoot RAW so it is easier to fix the colour.
    Last edited by hwchoy; 29th May 2006 at 13:35.
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    中峇鲁
    Posts
    361
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    12
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by ranmasatome
    each situation is different.
    No such thing as one setting can take all kinds of photos..it depends on many factors.
    Usually, you'll just ahve to trial and error... practice makes perfect.. so just shoot.. dont worry.. try and try again all sorts of settings.
    i mean only for whole tank and plant macroshot.

    been clicking alot. almost all rubbish. i've keep trying.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    316
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    United_States
    As Chow said, you're gonna need a whole lot of light. Just take the following picture for example.
    http://i.pbase.com/o4/35/597035/1/56338050.DSC_2849.jpg

    That was taken with 500W of lighting directly over the tank and a rather large aperture, f/2, to even get shutter speed to hit 1/60 sec.

    Also, how many keepers depends on how critical you're with each. The ratio is definitely higher than 1% once you get the hang of things.
    Eric

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    238
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    25
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by hwchoy
    without enough like, you will get ZERO perfect one, unless you are lucky-strike type. actually without flash, it will be pretty bad because you will then have very strong colour cast, even if the fish don't move.

    shoot RAW so it is easier to fix the colour.
    ok you lost me..what is RAW?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •