Country
    Australia

Cool easy plants?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hello
    honestly I think you will all get tired of my continued questions but here I go again. I have just purchased three new tanks and am starting the cycling process. My smaller tank of two and a half feet long by three feet high is still empty but is intended for my dwarf gouramis new home I would like to plant it with some low maintennce plants of varying hieghts and hope that some one would be able to offer some suggestions of what types are low maintenece before i buy
    thankyou
    kalinda

p.s and what gravel sand or both I will need ( please remember I am an absolute beginner with dreams of granduer hehehe )

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    for gravel, i would suggest using auqasoil with powersand for good & easy plant growth

Hougang, Singapore / Tg Balai Karimun, Indonesia
    Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    For a really low maintenance aquarium, lay down 1 inch of topsoil from your garden (or any loamy soil that has not been fertilised) as the base layer. Slope the soil from back to just shy of the front pane so that you do not see an ugly black layer of soil below the gravel in front. Cover that with 2 inches of an inert gravel like Lonestar or Lapis.

For plants, use a variety of cryptocorynes. They do not need CO2 nor bright lights to grow nicely, and some have red foilage even under low light conditions too. For a list of crypts and their sizes, check out http://www.nationaalherbarium.nl/Cry...yne/index.html

Use the big or tall crypts for the back, the medium sized crypts in the middle and small ones (I love the C. parva) in front.