Images
    Country
    Singapore

This is a guppy?

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I tried to find the right category for asking about Guppies but I read that Guppy belongs to the Characin family so I decided to post at Characins.

I brought my son to LFS and asked him to pick some fishes. He picked a group of fishes that are known as Mickey Mouse Fish. The fish has Mickey Mouse logo near the end of the tail. I kinda forgotten the full name but it looked like a Tetra to me but the behavior is very Guppy.

Can someone tell me the correct name of the fish and is that fish a tetra or a guppy?

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Well, it is neither a tetra nor a guppy...
    It is a platy... A livebearer actually...

I'm no expert in fishes, but don't think they belong to the characin family...
    ~ Vincent ~ Fishes calm your mind...
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/valice/

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Yes. They are live bearers. I've moved it to the general freshwater fauna section.

Cheers,
    I have dwarf cichlids in my tanks! Do you?

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    nkthen, time to bring your kids to shops that have nothing but REAL fishes
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona · crumenatum · Galleria Botanica

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Oh... correct me... You mean Mickey Mouse platy is not a fish?

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    They are specific strain bred for the pattern at the tail region. Hwchoy prefers fishes which are bred naturally in their naturally form. Look at his signature. That's what he meant by REAL fishes...
    ~ Vincent ~ Fishes calm your mind...
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/valice/

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore