Country
    China

DIY Cooling Fans

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I am a newbie to planted tanks.

I have tried doing a DIY cooling fan for my 2ft newly planted tanks and it really does the work.

I have 4 X 12V DC fan driven by a AC/DC converter. Fan cost $3 each and AC/DC converter cost $6.50 and all are from Sim Lim Twr.

It has brought down my tank temp from 31'c to 28'c when i switch on my 2 X 36W 6500k PL lights.

Just to share with you guys.

Try this link : http://fish.petfrd.com/index.php
    Just a Newbie ...

Feedback Score
    I used to run on 4 DC fans but now reduced to just 2 after some experimenting. Running too many fans from a single DC socket plug lead to overheating - my first DC socket plug melted as a result of overheating. The noise level also reduced noticeably plus less spinning blades to cut straying fingers. Finally, for me, the end result remains the same, i.e. temperature maintains at 28 to 29.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Hi Plantbie,

IMO, if you are only running a 2ft tank, 04 x DC fan is an overkill.
    Just a single DC 12V fan will do the job. Of course, unless you are telling me the size of the DC fan is as big as a CPU cooler.

If you are having a DC fan the size of approx 5x5 cm (Those you can salvage from a PC power supply), it is enough to bring down the tank temperature by 2 deg. Like mine, it drops from 30-31 to 27-28 deg.

With more fan, your water evaporation is faster and you will have to top up the water more often.

Anyway, I think more fan != cooler temperature (for 2ft tank).

Just my opinium.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    hi roy, so u took out 2 fan(1 fan blowing in & 1 fan sucking air out)?

Hi Ninjafly, how big is yr tank which u used onli 1 DC gfan to bring down temp. of 2 deg cel?

Can i use 2 DC fan(8x8cm, those fr PC PSU) for my 1.5ft tank with 2 x 18watt pl? W/o fan, the temp is 30(when lights off) 32 deg cel(when on light for 10hrs)