Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Nikon flashes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia

    Nikon flashes

    Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

    Advertise here

    Advertise here
    Hi all,
    I will be getting a D200 soon and would like to know from Nikonians here if I should get a SB800 or SB600 for fish photography? I want to be able to put a flash (or two) on top of the tank during the shoot. I know the SB800 is more powerful, etc but it's also twice the price of SB600. Personally I feel SB600 is enough except for the commander mode which is only available in SB800. So, is the commander mode that useful? Or can I use the D200 as my commander but ask it to not fire the build in flash as firing the build in flash would cause reflections from the aquarium glass. Thanks.

    - Luenny

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    always buy the most powerful flash you can afford.
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Clementi
    Posts
    7,066
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    789
    Country
    Singapore
    The commander mode is very useful for aquarium photography. You will find the SB800 well worth the investment.

    Cheers,
    I have dwarf cichlids in my tanks! Do you?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    62
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore
    Buy the SB800. You can get pre-owned excellent condition sets at a cheaper price.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    3,747
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    199
    Country
    Singapore
    Why don't wait till the release of D300? Price will D200 will drop then...
    ~ Vincent ~ Fishes calm your mind...
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/valice/





  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,474
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    15
    Country
    Singapore
    I agree with Valice, and many CS'ers will be dumping their D200 cheaply for the upgrade. Some buy from Harvey Norman with extended warranty which might be a pretty good choice too.
    Last edited by Wackytpt; 30th Sep 2007 at 22:24. Reason: remove immediate quote
    Cheers and Regards,
    Billy Cheong

    I'm not always dumb,
    Just most of the time...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Toa Payoh
    Posts
    1,527
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    53
    Country
    Singapore
    Luenny,
    Check out clubsnap.com plenty of goodies there.

    Richard
    ******
    Richard
    ******
    Canon 20D 100mm Macro EF-S 18-55mm EF-S 55-250mm EF-400mm f5.6 Speedlite 550EX 2x420EX ST-E2
    http://www.trident.smugmug.com/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    Hi guys,
    Thanks for the response. Yes, I agree D300 coming out and people are dumping their D200 to upgrade. I'm getting mine from a guy who is pre-ordering a D300 and therefore selling his D200 and MB-D200. I've seen the camera and we're sending it to NSC for sensor cleaning (free since it's still under warranty) and general checks (also free). If everything turns out ok, I'll be getting from him. Yeah, it may drop even more when D300 comes out but what to do, hands itchy already.

    As for SB800, I've already purchased a used one during the weekends. Hahaha!! Just found out someone's selling so I buy.

    Ok, now who knows anybody selling the Nikkor f2.8 105mm Macro VR version second hand cheap, please let me know.

    Hi Richard,
    Not really influenced by Stan. I used to play with camera some doggy years ago. Used to own Nikon F601M and FE2 as well as Canon EOS5 (still with me). But I gave all that up when I come over to Singapore. I just thought now's a good time to restart the hobby, that's all.
    Last edited by luenny; 30th Sep 2007 at 15:04.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    2,600
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    5
    Country
    Singapore
    You D200 is capable to command remote flashes. Therefore, you do not need the SB-800 as a commander.

    SB-600 is good enough for photographing your fish tank. The power of the SB-800 will only come in useful, say if you shoot in an indoor/night event where you might need to bounce or diffuse the flash and also sometimes illuminate further subjects.

    BC

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    Yes I know D200 is capable to command remote flashes. But it also fire off the build in flash during commander mode which cause a huge reflection on the aquarium which is not what I want.
    - Luenny

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    10,216
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore
    Sorry beginner question, what is "command remote flashes" how does it work? My understanding is the optosensor on the external/slave flash triggered by onboard flash. Is there other way to triggered it? such as radio frequency or maybe just wire connecting to the camera body.
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    2,913
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    26
    Country
    Malaysia
    By using cables and slave sensors you would be able to achieve the same thing or... buy the SU800. Still not in stock.
    You can if you dare to fail - Stan Chung

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    A bit late but I bought the SB800 already. Bought a second hand one. Oh, I have another very old flash, I think it's still working. Anybody knows how much is a slave sensor?
    - Luenny

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    2,913
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    26
    Country
    Malaysia
    About $60 I think.
    You can if you dare to fail - Stan Chung

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    316
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    United_States
    Can't the older flash just act like a slave and get trigger by a quick pulse in light from your SB-800?
    Eric

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    Quote Originally Posted by Ibn View Post
    Can't the older flash just act like a slave and get trigger by a quick pulse in light from your SB-800?
    That's what I intend to do exactly but my old flash does not have a build in optical sensor to fire off when other flashes go off. That's why I need a slave sensor.
    - Luenny

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    10,216
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore
    No sensor? how does that old flash fire then? through cable?
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    No sensor cannot fire? I don't understand what you mean.
    - Luenny

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    10,216
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore
    I asking how does your old flash synchronize with camera build in flash if it does not have sensor? Does it use cable?

    Sorry, I start knowing camera when it goes/switch to digital
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    Either connect to the camera directly or via cable.
    - Luenny

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •