Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Remote commander on D70/D70s

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore

    Remote commander on D70/D70s

    Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

    Advertise here

    Advertise here
    my friend uses a D70/D70s and wants to use the onboard flash as remote commander. does the onboard flash fires when it triggers an off-shoe SB600/800? can it be set such that onboard flash does not fire a visible flash?
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    358
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    10
    Country
    Singapore
    Nope. It cannot be disabled.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    any suggestions? what do you guys do to reduce the flash from the onboard?
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,474
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    15
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by hwchoy View Post
    any suggestions? what do you guys do to reduce the flash from the onboard?
    It is believe that some films are able to remove the visible lights though I didn't have direct experience with it. It is common used by divers using Inon Underwater strobes. Maybe its worth a try?

    http://www.inonamerica.com/content/d...ystem2F373.pdf
    Cheers and Regards,
    Billy Cheong

    I'm not always dumb,
    Just most of the time...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Des Moines Iowa
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    United_States
    I have heard of people using a card to block out the light and it still triggers the flash, but I have not tried yet myself.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    I'm bringing my camera to the shop and asking them the same question. Let you know the answer when I find out.
    - Luenny

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    2,600
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    5
    Country
    Singapore
    The flash on the D70 does not contribute to the flash exposure. However, the pre-flashes used for commanding the slaves can be caught in the reflection. There is no way to disable the pre-flash. However, since the slaves are activated by the IR spectrum, I have not tried this personally but I've read that it is possible to attach an exposed film over the built-in flash to block the visible spectrum while allowing the IR to command the slave flash.

    BC

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    if you try to do an exposure lock, it should preflash and trigger the remotes for metering purpose right? so you can try to see how much you can block the onboard flash and yet still trigger the remotes.
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •