Images
    Country
    Singapore

Recommendation for substrate

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I am a newbie in fish rearing and thinking of starting my first low tech 2ft planted tank. Ideally, I will prefer 1 type of substrate for easy maintenance. Any recommendation on substrate?

I do not have external filter, using those $20+ hang on filter. Is this good enough? For planted tank, how often do I need to suck out fish poo?

Thanks in advance for the advice.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    i would highly recommend the use of Gex brand soil substrate =) it's chock full of nutrients for your plants and doesn't cloud the water for long no matter how you stir it up. it's probably the best substrate available in the market now, and it's hassle free too!

your filter should be alright, do you know what the flow rate is (should be indicated on the packaging as XX litres/hour)? ideally, you will want a filter that is rated at 3-4 times the volume of water in your tank (so for a 2x1x1 ft tank, the volume is 54 litres so 200 litres/hour is sufficient, more is ok as long as you don't have a whirlpool in your tank)

fish poo wise, in a planted tank i don't think you need to as the fish poo will decompose and be absorbed by the plants as nutrients. i just do some basic siphoning of debris once a week when i change the water

hope this helps =)

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore

Recommendation for substrate

Packaging says 260/330 for flow rate.
    Is there many type of Gex soil or only 1 type? If many types, which one do you recommend?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    usually for planted tank light green or dark green packaging is used. they're both for planted, but dark green has a smaller grain size. i'm personally using light green with excellent results. the price for it just dropped too! i just went to check an hour ago