Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 42

Thread: Need recomendation on Canon Speedlite

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

    Advertise here

    Advertise here
    Quote Originally Posted by luenny View Post
    Pardon my question, I'm quite new to Canon, but can't Canon cameras itself (say the 400D) act as a commander without having the ST-E2 mounted?


    cannot. only some nikons can.
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    10,216
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore
    Yeah, that make Nikon D80 attractive, $200~$300 more than Canon EOS 400D.
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    however with the Nikon on board flash, you will have problem with reflection from the glass as it cannot be disabled. I would have loved for the canon on board flash to be able to act as flash trigger, that will give me an option to use ST-E2 or not. some times it is OK to flash from front (e.g. non-aquatic subjects) and it is less of a hassle to fix on the ST-E2.
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    Actually all my fish shots were done using the D200's on board flash as a trigger. In the D200, there's an option to set the on board flash to very low power when using it as commander mode. When I do that, I don't get any reflection on the glass, don't even need to put tissue paper. I'm not sure if that is present in D80 or not but I think it is likely to be there.
    - Luenny

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    not sure, so far the D80 owners I know are still struggling with their on board flash
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    10,216
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore
    I'm a bit lost here, so.. in Nikon D200 for example, it is using the on board flash as a trigger and not IR. Because I've been thinking that both ST-E2 and Nikon using IR to trigger as well as comunicate with external flash
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
    Because I've been thinking that both ST-E2 and Nikon using IR to trigger as well as comunicate with external flash

    now why would you think that?
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    3,747
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    199
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by luenny View Post
    Actually all my fish shots were done using the D200's on board flash as a trigger. In the D200, there's an option to set the on board flash to very low power when using it as commander mode. When I do that, I don't get any reflection on the glass, don't even need to put tissue paper. I'm not sure if that is present in D80 or not but I think it is likely to be there.
    for fish shots, not an issue. In fact, it acts as a very nice fill flash when properly diffused.

    but once you use it for tank shots, unless your overhead lighting is so much stronger than the outside of the tank lighting, no matter how much lower you put down the on-board flash, you will be see that nice white spot on your pictures.

    and then the nikon becomes not so attractive.

    my experience came from using the 00 with the sb-800 as the master commander.

    but nikon also have a similar gadget as the ST-E2 right? But think more expensive.
    ~ Vincent ~ Fishes calm your mind...
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/valice/





  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    10,216
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by hwchoy View Post
    now why would you think that?
    Isn't that how the ST-E2 comunicate with the flash right E-TTL and not sure what do you call it in Nicon? So why not use the same IR to trigger the flash?

    Somehow Canon manage to keep E-TTL spec well. I can't find any info on it.
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    10,216
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by valice View Post
    for fish shots, not an issue. In fact, it acts as a very nice fill flash when properly diffused.

    but once you use it for tank shots, unless your overhead lighting is so much stronger than the outside of the tank lighting, no matter how much lower you put down the on-board flash, you will be see that nice white spot on your pictures.

    and then the nikon becomes not so attractive.

    my experience came from using the 00 with the sb-800 as the master commander.

    but nikon also have a similar gadget as the ST-E2 right? But think more expensive.
    OK my choice come back to Canon then
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    7,920
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    7
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
    Isn't that how the ST-E2 comunicate with the flash right E-TTL and not sure what do you call it in Nicon? So why not use the same IR to trigger the flash?

    I mean, why would you think canon and nikon both do the same thing?
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona crumenatum Galleria Botanica

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    Quote Originally Posted by valice View Post
    but once you use it for tank shots, unless your overhead lighting is so much stronger than the outside of the tank lighting, no matter how much lower you put down the on-board flash, you will be see that nice white spot on your pictures.

    and then the nikon becomes not so attractive.

    my experience came from using the 00 with the sb-800 as the master commander.
    Funny, I don't get such problem. Anyway, I never use the SB-800 as master commander. My SB-800 is set as slave on top of the aquarium. The D200 itself is set as commander and the flash is set to none (although it will still flash). In this mode, if you try to take indoor picture with just the onboard flash with normal ISO100 settings, you will see the flash go off but the picture will turn out as if there is no flash (all dark). I've tried that a few times when I forgot to switch the flash back to TTL.
    - Luenny

  13. #33
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    10,216
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by hwchoy View Post
    I mean, why would you think canon and nikon both do the same thing?
    Only base on the assumption that both probably use the same way to cumunicate IR or RF though the format/protocol most likely different. Otherwise canon on Nikon flash will be interchangeable which is not.
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    Country
    Singapore
    Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in his shoes. That way, if he gets angry, he'll be a mile away - and barefoot!!

  15. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
    I'm a bit lost here, so.. in Nikon D200 for example, it is using the on board flash as a trigger and not IR. Because I've been thinking that both ST-E2 and Nikon using IR to trigger as well as comunicate with external flash
    You may be right by saying that they use something other than the flash to communicate the metering information to the slave flash. The on light from the board flash itself probably does not trigger the slave. You can confirm this by blocking the light with a piece of card board or something and see if the slave flash still fire or not. I think I tried mine before and it works - I think.
    Last edited by luenny; 6th Dec 2007 at 18:15.
    - Luenny

  16. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadow View Post
    just wondering is there any web site that describe E-TTL sinal/format and hot shoe connection?

    I got a feeling that it can be DIY, not easy but possible.
    Just to warn you, if you DIY wrongly, the worst case scenario is not your flash not firing. The worst case is your DIY item causing your camera to spoil. So do it only if you really know what you're doing.
    - Luenny

  17. #37
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hougang
    Posts
    3,747
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    199
    Country
    Singapore
    If you are already spending 1000 bucks for the camera, 700 bucks for the lens, 500 on a flash. 200 bucks on the ST-E2. DIY = Priceless? I don't know.
    ~ Vincent ~ Fishes calm your mind...
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/valice/





  18. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    10,216
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore
    At this point, cable is good enough maybe 3 meters
    Just connect the flash box to the camera using hot shoe cable (what ever you call it)

    Quote Originally Posted by Mossman View Post
    Thanks bro, good website for beginner like me, learn lots of info there
    Last edited by Shadow; 6th Dec 2007 at 21:45.
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

  19. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Singapore
    Posts
    1,380
    Feedback Score
    0
    Images
    42
    Country
    Malaysia
    I don't know about Canon's accessories. Nikon's TTL cable for the flash can cost around $70-$100 too. And it can only work with 1 flash. So you might as well get the ST-E2 which is 200 bucks.
    - Luenny

  20. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Telok Blangah, SGP
    Posts
    10,216
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Images
    78
    Country
    Singapore
    $70-$100 just for cable?
    -Robert
    Aquascaping is a marriage between Art and Farming
    My Blog: http://aquatic-art.blogspot.com/

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •