Betta & Fighting Fish

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    i'm really new to these fishes...
    just want to clarify something..
    are these bettas fighting fishes?
    or rather how do i differentiate Bettas & fighting fishes?

because a few of my camp mates are getting fighting fishes into camp.. thought of joining them.. but i do not know where to get good fighting fishes...
    and these bettas all look so beautiful... not a bit like anything used for fighting..
    Regards,

胡炽文
    Sherman Foo

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    bettas = fighting fish. The man-made strains have fancy long fins which aren't really useful for fighting, while the 'wild' forms (often called plakats) have short tails and fins. The most common betta sold is the Siamese fighting fish (Betta splendens) which comes in numerous strains. But there are about 70 or more different species of wild bettas as well. Search around in this section of the forum and I think you'll learn more.

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Bro these are the list for siamese fighting fish that I know that you might be interested at.

1. Plakat
    2. Half Moon
    3. Crown Tail
    4. Delta
    5. Super Delta
    6. Half Moon Plakat
    7. Crowntail Plakat
    8. Giant

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    let me be more clear. Betta refers to a group of fishes naturally distributed in Southeast Asia. one of these is the so called "siamese fighting fish" (known as Betta splendens in Latin). There are currently about 60+ members (species) in the group Betta.
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona · crumenatum · Galleria Botanica

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore
    Quote Originally Posted by FaRnieGuy View Post
    i'm really new to these fishes...