Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: My second try at planting, help needed please :)

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Country
    Singapore

Red face My second try at planting, help needed please :)

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi im freddie and im new to this forum and i have a few questions.
    plesae bear with me and with some of the questions because im a quite a newbie to plant keeping.

i have tried to grow plants before, it worked. kinda. then all died cos my fan fell in, electrocuted all e fish too... some plants grew better than others for awhile before the incident, lol so changed to chiller.

i currently have a 200 litre (53 gallon) 4ft tank by 18" width by approx 55cm ht. theres about 4" of substrate (1-3mm size) inside my tank which i laid fertilizer in the middle layer. i use a CO2 tank and a external filter. i also use a chiller set at 25 degrees and a UV system.

i laid the fert like 2 years ago so i think its kinda worn down over time, any recommendations to what kind of fert tt i can use without disrupting the soil. i heard of laterite but i went to aquastar in yishun and only found it in powdered form so instead i bout jbl's fert in ball form and how much should i put per plant? currently i have sword ferns and javaferns and a few other plants tt are easier to keep. i also use seacheam Flourish and Excel.

i also have a slight brush algae problems, should i put medication in, which im rather fearful of disrupting the water balance, or just get more mollies and algae eaters to clean it up?