Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Newbie here... Need help...

Newbie here... Need help...

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    I need advise from all the seniors here. I'm new in doing plant tank and I'm facing some problems and I hope that someone can advise me with it.

1) pH problem: The pH of the water has remained high (>pH7.6) despite of increasing the CO2 supply & adding pH-. Chan(NA) has advised me to check the tap water pH & indeed it's >7.6... Can anyone give me advise to step down the pH??

2) Water hardness: I have measured the parameters of my water, kH= 4dKH, GH=>12dGH, nH3=0mg/L... What's the ideal GH for plant tank? Any advise on how to step down the GH?

3) My fishes(Oto, puffer) & shrimps(Yamoto) have started to die day by day... Is it due to the harsh water condition? I have even add in water conditioner like black water & Geo liquid but problem still not solve...

4) I read from some threads on maturing the water... How do i determine whether the water is matured? Can anyone advise me on 'how to mature the water'??? One of my friends has advised me to put in some 'longkang fishes' to stablise the eco-system... Is that true?

FYI, mine is a -1mth 3 footer...

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Your pH. Are you using a substrate or filter medium with shell/coral/calcium carbonate elements? If so, this has to be changed. Otherwise, you are probably unfortunate to live in a high pH water mains area.

In planted tanks, kh is the main concern. I think your parameters are fine.

What's your plant/fish population? Water temperature? Water changes? Filtration? Maturing usually means that the tank has sufficient nitrifying bacteria to convert the fish waste into ammonium, and that the plants are settled well enough to act as biological filters. YOu might have added too many fishes too early, but strange that your NH3 is nil.