Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Cross breed different guppies

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    What would the offspring be like? Breed a male fancy guppy with those normal dull colored female found in drains. Will the carps contain strain
    from their dads that will make them beautiful, or they look half black/colored. Just curious and a little noob here.

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    a fancy guppy is nothing more than selectively bred guppies. the longkang guppies have reverted to their wild state. In case you do not know, guppies are from latin america and all guppies in our longkang are descended from once-fancy guppies. some are possibly introduced for mosquito control but most of those are actually mosquito fish from the Gambusia genus. so when catching female "guppies" in the longkang, make sure they are actually guppies and not mosquito fish.

most likely what will happen is you get a huge injection of wild genes into the highly selected fancy guppy gene pool. you will get offspring looking somewhat like the father but with reduced trait (smaller fan tail, shorter dorsal fins, more mixed colours, etc).
    why I don't do garden hybrids and aquarium strains: natural species is a history of Nature, while hybrids are just the whims of Man.
    hexazona · crumenatum · Galleria Botanica

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    you probably get the whole spectrum of the rainbow - a wide variety of colors. not as handsome as the father because usually we are not as pro and diligent in maintenance and feeding. if you are not too particular you can keep a colony, ie 3 or 4 generations in one tank. cull ie give away, whatever thats not handsome/pretty. are you japanese or singaporean? if here, i can recommend c328 - recently i bought some very beautiful males - electric red/ green sword tail. have fun

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore