Country
    Singapore

Marine salt for BBS

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi all,

I'm presently using common kitchen/table salt for my BBS hatchery and would like to give marine salt a go, since I just read in KillieTalk that the saline hatching solution can be used for up to 3 weeks!

That'll save me a little time on miscellaneous chores and spend more time looking at my killies, caring for frys or do more water changes! :wink:

Since I'm a 'freshwater-guy' all along, I've no experience with marine setups or used such salts for BBS, and will appreciate knowing which is recommended and which is overkill.

Yes... it'd be helpful if replys covers the following;
    Brands, prices and availability.
    Salt:water mixing ratio.
    Observations, if any.
    Alternatives.

Also, a long time ago, I read that marine salts have 'essential minerals'... and I'm wondering if our killies, plants and ramhorn snails will benefit from a 'light squirt' every now and then. TIA.
    I'm back & keeping 'em fingers wet,
    Ronnie Lee

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Marine salt for BBS

Sia Meng always express shock whenever he sees me squirting baby brine shrimp solution into my tanks. I'm not sure about benefits but killies and Nothos, in particular, can take a lot of salt in their water. I put so much salt solution into the trays holding Notho fry I think the water there is more marine than fresh.

I'm careless about things like ratio and all so whenever I put salt into my brine shrimp hatching bottles, I do it by estimation. I usually put about one and a half tablespoons of salt to one litre of water. That's just a rough estimate, of course. Honestly, the solution could be even more concentrated than that.