Images
    Country
    Singapore

Hello Everyone. New to setting up Killies Tank

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hello everyone, I am Poh San, just join this forum yesterday. I have being in fishkeeping for 10 years but have only just come across killies yesterday. I am holding a 2 ft planted tank. After giving alway my luo han to my friend, I have now a empty 2ft tank which I hope to keep some killies. I hope to get some advise for some of you. Thank in advance.
    1) As a beginner, I hope to get some killies that is colourful and hardy. May I know what is your recommendation? What about killies which I can keep in the planted tank with some tetra and shrimp? Pls advise.
    2) May I know any site that offers information on setting up a killies tank? Is killies tank different from other normal tank?
    3) The trading forum offers fish or eggs for sale. Should I get the egg or fish.
    Thank for the help

Feedback Score
    the one recommended killie for a community tank is definitely the Australe. very hardy and can live up to 3 years. used to have like 10 Lyretails in my setup together with corys and tetras. highly recommended. nothobranchis are not as hardy in a comm tank and should be kept separately in a species tank. i tried keeping a rachovii once and the tetras saw it's tail as food. go for the australes and welcome to the world of killies.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

Re: Hello Everyone. New to setting up Killies Tank

Poh San,

Another very hardy killifish is the Fundulopanchax gardneri. It's very colourful too and if you leave them in a planted tank, they will breed naturally. But they are aggressive fishes and will eat small fish and shrimp.

I don't think there's anything special about a killie tank. In fact, most hobbyists keep their killies in bare tanks. Powerful filtration is not recommended though and many hobbyists use sponge filters.