Thread: Anubias petite

Feedback Score

Anubias petite

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hello all,
    I just wanted to pick all your brains about anubias petite. I bought some not long ago and would like to know what are the best growing conditions for it. At the moment its in the substrate and its growing new leaves but the roots do not seem to grow too big. Ideally I want to tie it to a bit of drift wood so it would be near the lights - does it like high light? If anyone can share any information about this plant or knows where I can obtain it i would love to know.
    Cheers
    Tony

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Hi,

honestly, I've no experience with anubias petite nor even seen the plant before. It may however be similar to anubias nanas, which is also a dwarf version of the larger anubias.

As far as I know, the anubias nanas grows better when tied to a driftwood. When planted in the substrate, the roots tend to rot. It is possible to grow in substrate, though you will have to take the chance. I think it is a low light plant.
    Cheers
    Boon Yong

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Tony,

Like cheeboonyong mentioned, Anubias is a low light plant/slow grower and slow growers generally does not need much light. In most cases, exposing it to high light would encourage faster growth but the chances of getting spot algae on their leafs are also increased.

In my latest setup, I have the narrow leaf nanas in my tank, tied to drift wood branches, and they took 2 weeks to show new roots, just 3~4 strenches, which were soon adhered to the wood. Those placed under the shade of higher plants grow healthier (the leafs are clean of spot algae) than those under direct light.