Thread: foam/bubbles on water surface

Feedback Score

foam/bubbles on water surface

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi All,

I'm new to fish keeping, and I have a question I hope someone here can help answer.

I have a 2ft tank with overhead filter. In the tank is some java moss tied to driftwood and stainless-steel mesh, some plants I cannot ID, a couple of corys, ottos, and cardinal tetras.

The tank was setup abt 1 wk ago, and the pass few days I notice tiny foam-like bubbles on the surface ... (I scoop them up, the next day more appears ...)

The fishes and plants seems okay, but I'm curious as to what is the cause of the foam/bubbles and is it a prelude to something more serious?

Many thanks in advance.

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Hi naikoob,

The bubbles forming at the surface of your tank water are probably bubbles emitted from plants when the oxygen level of your tank water reaches a saturation point. It is more evident when a layer of scum is formed due to protein build up from fish food.

On the side note, you might want to test for presence of ammonia (the bubbles could also be ammonia gas which is deadly to fishes if your pH is above 7) as your tank could well be in the cycling phase.
    Plant Physiology by Taiz and Zeiger

Feedback Score
    hmmm ... don't think i've got enough plants to cause a saturation in O2 ...

i was afraid it will be ammonia, so i did a 50% water change on last nite, but more bubbles appear this morning. maybe i should get a test-kit after work.

thanks.

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    NH3 will not appear as bubbles. They will stay dissolved in the water... most of it as NH4+.

BC

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    errhh bclee