Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

shrimp with eggs

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Some time ago, I bought 5 malayan shrimps with eggs. But up till now, I have yet to see any baby shrimps in my planted tank. So what happened to all the eggs? How long will 1 shrimp hold it eggs for before releasing them? How and where will they release them? How long will the eggs take to hatch? Will SAEs, small puffers, white cloud mountains, cory, platy or tiger and yamato shrimp eat those eggs?

Today I found out that one of my yamato developed a belly of eggs. Is it common? What do you all think will be the chance that I will see baby yamatos swimming in my tank?

Feedback Score
    i'm no expert, but my guess is that the females just produce the eggs, and it's up to the males to release their stuff onto the eggs, how i current;y sex shrimps is those with eggs (female) those without eggs (male) in the same tank at a fish shop. My guess is that the shipment came in to gether and the timing of the shrimps having eggs should be the same, so there are those with eggs and those without.
    This is a lousy way of identifying the sex, but i haven't searched the web on how to sex shrimp, or breed them.
    My guess is that just buy a whole lot of them and hope there are male and females.[]

Anyone care to correct me/add on/enlighten us?
    #nicholas
    Web Album

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Pipsqueak,
    I also sex them by looking at the belly. I think most people do the same.

Illumbomb,
    The baby will only survive a few days if you are lucky. You can do a search in the forum for more details on how to breed them but so far nobody i know is successful.

But I can guide you on how to can see the baby fries.

First watch the females yamatoes closely. When their tummy is full of eggs and they start scratcing their bellies it means that they are depositing their eggs bit by bits