Advertisements
Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: Newbie Needs Help On Simpsonichthys trilineatus

Newbie Needs Help On Simpsonichthys trilineatus

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    hi, im new to killifish and im going to be coming across some Simpsonichthys trilineatus eggs soon =P. Now dont get worried ive been keeping and breeding fish like discus for quite a while and a while back i looked into killies... anyway i fell in love with thier colors just like i did discus. but heres my problem being a discus fanatic i beleive in perfection of the hobby and fish environment, and well... i have a few questions about Simpsonichthys trilineatus, so i make sure i hatch and raise them and maybe even breed them so i can keep a constant stock in my fish room.

#1 avg. incubation time on wet or dry incubation? ( also: which do you think yields best results? )

#2 incubation temp, wetness, preferred medium (probably peat)?

#3 if wet incubation do i change water a few times daily... or on dry incubation do i have to dampen the peat now and then? and when incubation peroid ends on dry eggs how do i know they are ready, is there a visable embryo? do i place they ready eggs in water when the incubation period is ready?

#4 does food type/protien effect coloring on these fish?

#5 what are the usual breeding habits of annuals? how do i know i have a pair or are they like guppies (if they are in same body of water they are going to breed)? is it safe to have a few males and females in the same tank? do i need to use a different tank for growing out the fry?

lol sorry so many questions... i just want to make sure i do the best possible job in hatching/raising these fish

gimme as much info as you can folks... im a big sponge when it comes to my fish, and i have a feeling these little fellas are gonna be one of my favorites

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore