Aquatic Avenue Banner Tropica Shop Banner Fishy Business Banner

Thread: qtns on killies

Feedback Score

qtns on killies

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    Hi,i brought a killi fish from an aquarium yesterday so how do i differentiate it's sex?
    Pardon mi for asking this question cos im new to this fish.

Rgds
    keep more killies

Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore
    Hi k,
    I am also new to killiies. But one thing for sure is that most of us do not buy Killies from the local fish shop. What you had just did is something that is not really approved by killies hobbysists.

May the moderators correct me if I am wrong in this aspect.

thanks

yours sincerely,
    Storm, Jeff

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by storm
    Hi k,
    I am also new to killiies. But one thing for sure is that most of us do not buy Killies from the local fish shop. What you had just did is something that is not really approved by killies hobbysists.

May the moderators correct me if I am wrong in this aspect.

thanks

yours sincerely,
    Storm, Jeff
    Opps, didn't know that there are golden rules for me to follow in getting my killies from a LFS. If thats the case where do i get "Approved" killies?

Rgds
    Ken
    keep more killies

Feedback Score
    Images
    Country
    Singapore
    Ken,

It is not so much you "shouldn't" get killies from LFS. But rather to be discerning where you obtain your breeding stock.

If you merely want to enjoy a pretty fish, by all means get them from any where. However if you would want to breed them, and distribute the progeny, then I suggest you get familiarised with the community here and how "things are done"

The main concern with the killifish hobbyists is the purity of the breeding strain. Unintended hybridisation is always a concern, and also the proper labelling of those breeding stock.