Feedback Score
    Country
    Singapore

new lazy setup

Advertisements
    Fresh n Marine aQuarium Banner

Advertise here

Advertise here
    After enviously studying Kwek Leong's 24" x 20" x 20" tank, I decided to custom order my own.

(I made two tank to be placed on a two-tier rack. The lower one has no substrate and will be used to prepare and grow out plants.)

I considered the 24" x 18" x 18" and also the 24" x 24" x 24".

The 18" wasn't high enough and the 24" would've been too difficult to plant ad maintain for the short-limbed me.

Unfortunately, due to the size of the tank, it's not as easy to maintain as my previous lazy woman tank that's of 24" x 12" x 14".

On paper the tank didn't seem to be that much bigger than the existing. But all those inches add up, as you can see against the old tank.

Any change/modification requires me to clamber up on a chair plus use long tweezers.

It is my first attempt at really thinking the layout through instead of just chucking in plants.

This is what it looked like on first planting last Thursday (the yellow sponge shouldn't be there)

But already I'm starting to chuck in plants. I can't resist!

It is just a week older and already I've added some Tiger Lillies and some echinodorus with red markings at the back to add some red to the tank.

The vals at the back need to grow in before they can be seen.

I'm not sure about the moss sheets in the front and there's a part of me that thinks the front is actually pretty nice just bare.

I'm not sure just how long these plants will last since the base is only gravel and no fertilizer and there's no CO2. I also don't use lights as this tank is next to 4 large windows.

Since it is a new setup, however, I put in some sticks of fertilizer near the echinodorus and vals.

I'm still wavering on the CO2 as I've invested so much in the plants, it would be a waste if they die on me.